Chapter Awards/Honorees

NEW! Zenith Award Criteria & Process

Replacing the Planner & Supplier of the Year Awards for 2019-2020 is the Zenith Award. This is to recognize a MiSGMP member's dedication and contributions to MiSGMP in a leadership role. 

See attachment here for Criteria and Process! 

Zenith Award Nomination Form -  Once form is complete, please submit to Laurie Nickson at [email protected] and Diane Dick at [email protected] 

Planner and Supplier of the Year Awards

Each year the Chapter recognizes a planner and supplier whose dedication and contributions to the organization have made a substantial impact. Honorees are nominated and voted on by the Chapter membership.

Award Recipients

2017 Laurie Nickson, CMP
2015 Anissa Damon, CMP, CGMP, CTA
2014 Diane Dick, CMP
2013 Michelle Milligan
2012 Chris Ward
2011 Laurie Nickson, CMP
2010 Diane Dick, CMP
2009 Anissa Stanley
2008 Deneen Hansen, CMP
2007 Pat Strzalkowski
2006 Mary Goodhall
2005 Deborah Jensen, CMP
2004 Mary Estrada
2003 Sue Micensky
2002 Lynn McNamara
2001 Tanya Madsen
2000 Andrew Silver

Award Recipients

2017 Stacy Yerby, CGMP
2016 Amanda Toy, CMP, CGMP, CTA
2015 Heidi Schmitt, CTA
2014 Kristina Baxendale, CMP, CTA
2013 Nate Melvin, CMP, CTA
2012 Nick Hussein
2011 Cathy Brady
2010 Brenda Haight, CMP
2009 Kimberly Wilkes, CMP
2007 Leslie Thompson, CMP
2006 Callie Cain, CMP
2005 Rhonda Bucholtz, CHSP
2004 Bill Knopp 
2003 Barbara Spearman
2002 Jeanne Skarupinski 
2001 Jim Peckrul, CHSP
2000 Kari Thrush


President's Award

The President's Award is a special tribute for exemplary and extraordinary accomplishments in SGMP. The award winner is honored with a presentation from the Chapter President. This award is given at the discretion of the President and is not necessarily awarded every year.

Award Recipients

2017 Diane Dick, CMP
2016 Michigan Member CVBs
Ann Arbor Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Blue Water Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Calhoun County Visitors Bureau
Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau
Discover Kalamazoo
Experience Grand Rapids
Flint & Genesee County Convention & Visitors Bureau
Frankenmuth Chamber and Convention & Visitors Bureau
Great Lakes Bay Regional Convention & Visitors Bureau
Greater Lansing Convention & Visitors Bureau
Mount Pleasant Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Traverse City Tourism
2014 2012-2014 Board of Directors
1st VP Laurie Nickson
2nd VP Nick Hussein
Treasurer Nate Melvin
Secretary Chris Ward
Directors Diane Dick, Mandy Flutur, Sarah Jarous
Immediate Past President Andrew Silver
2013 Nate Melvin, CMP, CTA
2013 Andrew Silver
2011 Debra Kopkau, CMP
2011 Mary Zucchero
2009 Mary Estrada
2008 Deborah Jensen, CMP
2007 Andrew Silver
2006 Rhonda Bucholtz, CHSP
2005 Mary Goodhall
2002 Andrew Silver
2001 Mary Estrada
2000 Sheri LaMar, CMP
1992 Bea Karber


Founder's Award

1992 Steve Bowers


Chartered: January 24, 1990